BZadmin logs off on its own

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

BZadmin logs off on its own

Post by Tropican8 »

Hello all,

I use BZadmin as a logger on my server by piping its output to a textfile. This all works very nicely, but BZadmin seems to be able to log off of my server at random times by itself. I have no idea how it does this, but anyone who plays at my server can confirm this behavior. Anything I can do to fix? (I've tried 2.0.2 and 2.0.3, both exhibit the same 'bug')
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

what i use to prevent it from logging off permanatly i put this in the terminal:

Code: Select all

while true; do bzadmin <name>@<server>:<port>; sleep .1; done

instead of just:

Code: Select all

bzadmin <name>@<server>:<port>
Image
User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 »

Sorry should have mentioned I'm on windows. I do a:

Code: Select all

bzadmin "Callsign@servername:port" >>filename
Is there any way to do what you suggested still?
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

You need to probably make a batch file. I'm not familiar with Windows... any Win devs here? :? I'll reasearch a little bit Tropican8.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

Tropican8 wrote:Sorry should have mentioned I'm on windows. I do a:

Code: Select all

bzadmin "Callsign@servername:port" >>filename
Is there any way to do what you suggested still?
what i sugested was for linux, cuz i thought ya were useing linux bzadmin cuz bzadmin nop work for me on any windows OS i have.
Image
User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 »

Interesting solution: If you use a something other than CMD.exe it runs fine. I today tried the MSYS shell and used me1's command suggestion. I'm assuming the shell in cygwin works too.
Post Reply