Windows bug or is it me ?

General talk about the map making process.
Post Reply
anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Windows bug or is it me ?

Post by anomaly »

This map code works on Linux and Windows, probably all platforms ( i haven't had any complaints)

box
position -85.0 0.0 50.0
size 30.0 35.0 5.0
end

base
name the_base
position -85.0 0.0 55.01
size 30.0 35.0 0.0
color 1
end

it's inside a define block...

however, this code makes windows clients stuck on the base when they spawn..

box
position -85.0 0.0 50.0
size 30.0 35.0 4.0
end

base
name the_base
position -85.0 0.0 54.0
size 30.0 35.0 1.0
color 1
end

What am I doing wrong ??

:?
anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

why does this work?

Post by anomaly »

This code works for windows ?!?

Code: Select all

box
  position -85.0 0.0 50.0
  size 30.0 35.0 4.01
end
	
base
  name the_base
  position -85.0 0.0 54.01
  size 30.0 35.0 1.0
  color 1
end
rounding error ?
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

umm thast because the box is on top of the base and so then they spawn inside a box which you cant do
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Post by anomaly »

actually the box is at an altitude of 50 units and is 5 units high. the base starts at altitude 55.01 and is 0.0 units high. the base is on top of the box. and the code works on linux clients but not on windows clients.

in the second case which works for both clients the box is shortened by 1 unit and the base height is increased to 1 unit, which does not work on windows. Funny thing is the same style of code seems to work on other servers like CTFIsland hopping.

Its just a box with the base on top. adjusting the altitude up by 0.01 seems to fix it. I am running a server on a GNU/Linux box though,

my sescond post shows how I got the base to have some height. that code works for linux and windows clients. ??
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

put the base height (scale Z) to 1 instead of 0

and the obvious way to fix this would be to remove the box all together
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Post by anomaly »

The code is actually a fragment of a larger define block. The base sits on top of a structure. So getting rid of the box won't work. What I did find was that this code does work...

Code: Select all

box
  position -85.0 0.0 50.0
  size 30.0 35.0 3.0
end
	
base
  name the_base
  position -85.0 0.0 53.0
  size 30.0 35.0 2.0
  color 1
end
This code and lots of other stuff is inside a define like this

Code: Select all

define object
...objects...
enddef

group object
  name the_object
	team 1
	spin 90.0 0.0 0.0 1.0
	shift -105.0 0.0 7.5
end
I still don't understand why the windows clients get stuck when spawning given the code in my very first post. Oh well, my problem has been solved...
thanks for the input.
btw...
The map can be seen at alachua.homelinux.net when it's up.
jaxad0127
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:27 pm

Post by jaxad0127 »

The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:put the base height (scale Z) to 1 instead of 0

and the obvious way to fix this would be to remove the box all together
The working code has a height of 0 and the buggy code has a height of 1.0. Maybe you should try it without the decimal.
Post Reply