bzflag.exe - cpu utilization > 90%

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
User avatar
bamf.
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:31 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

bzflag.exe - cpu utilization > 90%

Post by bamf. » Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:27 pm

Lately I have been having trouble with lag. I attribute most of this to my ISP, (they see a problem but have yet to find a resolution). But after investigating a little, I've noticed when playing BZ for a few minutes, that my CPU fan will kick in and run continuously until I quit. I believe my lag (as shown by lagstats) spikes even higher during this time. Checking the processes in Windows Task Manager, bzflag.exe is eating all the CPU time (consistently over 90%). Now, I never paid much attention to this in the past, so this could be normal for bzflag to use that much of the CPU? I've also run the same tests with all non-essential processes stopped (including Anti-virus). Any thoughts (besides get Linux)?

PC Info:
Pentium 4 - 3ghz
1gb ram
Windows Firewall (haha) - always disabled
Vid - GeForce FX 5200
OS - WinXP pro - all patches

Cheers!
It's a good idea to always carry two sacks of something when you walk around. That way, if anybody says: Hey, can you give me a hand? You can say: Sorry, got these sacks.

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:44 pm

Try the latest video driver:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_81.98.html

ForceWare Release 80
Version: 81.98
Release Date: February 7, 2006
WHQL Certifie

User avatar
bamf.
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:31 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by bamf. » Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:00 pm

Thanks, but already running that version of the driver.
It's a good idea to always carry two sacks of something when you walk around. That way, if anybody says: Hey, can you give me a hand? You can say: Sorry, got these sacks.

JPT
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by JPT » Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:48 pm

hmmm... Check if a different service is using the CPU, too

snick
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:26 pm

Re: bzflag.exe - cpu utilization > 90%

Post by snick » Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:08 pm

bamf. wrote:Lately I have been having trouble with lag. I attribute most of this to my ISP, (they see a problem but have yet to find a resolution). But after investigating a little, I've noticed when playing BZ for a few minutes, that my CPU fan will kick in and run continuously until I quit. I believe my lag (as shown by lagstats) spikes even higher during this time. Checking the processes in Windows Task Manager, bzflag.exe is eating all the CPU time (consistently over 90%). Now, I never paid much attention to this in the past, so this could be normal for bzflag to use that much of the CPU?
It's not necessarily anything to worry about. BZFlag will use as much of
the available resources as it can. So, if your video card is fast, and the
operating system allows it, the game will pummel your cpu.

I notice that the latest CVS has an energy-saving option, which may be
of interest to you. This appears to be the relevant code:

--- BEGIN QUOTE ---

// limit the fps to save battery life by minimizing cpu usage
if (BZDB.isTrue("saveEnergy")) {
static TimeKeeper lastTime = TimeKeeper::getCurrent();
const float fpsLimit = BZDB.eval("fpsLimit");
if ((fpsLimit >= 1.0f) && !std::isnan(fpsLimit)) {
const float elapsed = float(TimeKeeper::getCurrent() - lastTime);
if (elapsed > 0.0f) {
const float period = (1.0f / fpsLimit);
const float remaining = (period - elapsed);
if (remaining > 0.0f) {
TimeKeeper::sleep(remaining);
}
}
}
lastTime = TimeKeeper::getCurrent();
} // end energy saver check

--- END QUOTE ---

The rest is here: http://tinyurl.com/rbztr

Please consult the devs for the most accurate info.

Regards,

Snick.

snick
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:26 pm

Re: bzflag.exe - cpu utilization > 90%

Post by snick » Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:13 pm

snick wrote:So, if your video card is fast, and the
operating system allows it, the game will pummel your cpu.
This may also be the case if your video card is not especially fast. It
all depends on the implementation details.

Snick.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Thu Mar 02, 2006 9:44 pm

A nVidia GeForce FX 5200 should be able to handle BZFlag just fine. I've heard of people using GeForce 4 MXs...

Have you tried changing the resolution and bit-depth?
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

mistake
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:12 am

Re: bzflag.exe - cpu utilization > 90%

Post by mistake » Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:16 pm

@snick
snick wrote: // limit the fps to save battery life by minimizing cpu usage
Uh Ah, maybe that was what was happening to me, my FPS sometimes droped from 180 to 8 FPS.
I thought that it was due to heat, that my computer turned itself down some nogges. Well, maybe it was the heat.
When does that BZFlagPowerSaver get triggered? For an idled player only?

@bamf

actually when playing bzflag, my CPU fan is doing lots of work too after some while.
I am on a laptop.
I found this application 8kfanGUI which I use to set the fan on maximun before I actually start playing, to prevent it from getting to warm in the fist place. That utility als reports the CPU temperature. Not sure for which systems it works. Maybe you find links there for other utilities that fit your setup.

When I check the CPU times for bzflag, mine is usually not that high, maybe due to the fact that when i look at my taskmanager, i have bzflag minimized. The only cases where i have seen a 90% CPU time is when bzflag was non-responsive and the process had to be killed.

In any case, to have a process that has 90% over a longer period of time is I think never good. This means that your os system itself doesn't get a lot of time for its jobs, which will degradate the overall performance of your computer.
mistake

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:43 pm

The default state for BZFlag is to run full-out, meaning
as close to 100% CPU usage as it can. The energy
saver mode will affect the current usage, as well as
window's state (ex: minized). If you have a dual-core
processor, then expect closer to 50% (bzflag is not
threaded).

User avatar
bamf.
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:31 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by bamf. » Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:22 pm

Hmm, I replied to this post earlier but it doesn't appear. Thank you for all your responses. The energy saver feature looks interesting. Is this going to be a selectable feature?
It's a good idea to always carry two sacks of something when you walk around. That way, if anybody says: Hey, can you give me a hand? You can say: Sorry, got these sacks.

User avatar
bamf.
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:31 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by bamf. » Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:45 pm

Ok, I downloaded the latest build and my cpu fan is happy and presently napping. That takes care of that, now I just need to light a fire under my isp's arse to fix the circuit issue...

Thanks for help all.

Cheers!
It's a good idea to always carry two sacks of something when you walk around. That way, if anybody says: Hey, can you give me a hand? You can say: Sorry, got these sacks.

snick
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:26 pm

Post by snick » Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:51 pm

bamf. wrote:Hmm, I replied to this post earlier but it doesn't appear. Thank you for all your responses. The energy saver feature looks interesting. Is this going to be a selectable feature?
In the CVS version of BZFlag I have, it's a menu option:

# Options->Display Settings->Energy Saver: On/Off

It is also affected by a variable set in the configuration file "config.cfg":

# set fpsLimit 50

Snick.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests