Wings vs Blender

Questions and answers about the how and why of making maps.
Post Reply

Which modeler is better? Wings or Blender?

Blender
15
83%
Wings
3
17%
 
Total votes: 18

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Wings vs Blender

Post by Red Cobra » Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:42 pm

What is better wings or blender?

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:18 pm

Each have their ups and downs.
Wings is easier to use, Blender takes a while.
Blender and Wings each have some commands the other does not.
Blender is more powerful than Wings.
If you wanna go beyond BZFlag map making, you can make movies(I think),
games, animated models, and on top of that, can make models very
smooth without taking as much memory as Wings.
But, however, Wings has a well working BZW plugin, and Blender's is still being worked on(though it is operable).
Each have their good points, and I should know, as I have both.
However, I haven't used either of them for mapmaking, but there are many who have.
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:55 pm

the blender plugin is much more full featured then the wings one. The wings one only does meshes. the blender one can do full maps.

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:52 pm

That figures. I didn't look at the blender plugin forum :oops:
There's lots of pros/cons I forgot to mention, I'm sure.
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:39 pm

you guys are talking about Wings3d right>

ifso I think there are Completely different Blender is used more to make wallpapers, siggs, avatars, ect.... bascly Flat pics.

Wings3D is more to make real physical Objects such as this: http://my.bzflag.org/bb/files/mariopipe_923.jpg
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:01 pm

blender is also a modeler, you can do a lot more then just render "flat picts"

I think you are confusing blender with GIMP or Photoshop.

Basically blender can do pretty much everything Wings3D can do, and a lot more. Wings3D has a simpler interface. Blender is more powerful.

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:04 am

I dont think im confused with thos. cuz gimp cant do what blender or wings3D can do.
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:03 am

yes you are confused, GIMP and blender are very different tools.

User avatar
Destroyer1313
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:21 am
Location: The Boonies

Post by Destroyer1313 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:40 am

JeffM2501 wrote:yes you are confused, GIMP and blender are very different tools.

Very bluntly,
Blender makes 3D models, BZFlag maps, pictures, and other stuff.
GIMP Makes pictures, textures, sprites, and other yada yada.
Dormant. Not really. Kinda.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:47 am

Blender is not just a renderer. Blender is a 3D modeling suite (Sweet!) that comes with a modeler, material editor, and renderer, along with the ability to be expanded into external renderer's and modelers and use the many plug-ins, like the auto tree generator, and the BZW Tools.
ifso I think there are Completely different Blender is used more to make wallpapers, siggs, avatars, ect.... bascly Flat pics.
Blender can be used for Pictures, but it's a 3D modeler, so of course it can be a object maker! In wings people usually use and external renderer to make it into a 'flat pic' its jsut not in wings.
Image

User avatar
Goodbye2U
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:19 am
Location: In my farewells

Post by Goodbye2U » Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:08 am

ducktape wrote:Wings3D is more to make real physical Objects such as this: http://my.bzflag.org/bb/files/mariopipe_923.jpg
Whaddaya know! I made that! :wink:
ducktape also wrote:Blender is used more to make wallpapers, siggs, avatars, ect....
Really? I didn't know that...it makes a lot of sense though...
Better get crackin' :D
I'm thinking I need a better sig than this...

User avatar
knoxkorner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:24 pm

Post by knoxkorner » Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:54 am

wings sucks, you cant get one thing into bzedit

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:56 am

anti-spam wrote:wings sucks, you cant get one thing into bzedit
You can't put Blender made things into BZEdit either. It's a BZEdit problem, not Blender's or Wing3d's problem.

BZEdit does 1.x objects only.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:04 am

JeffM2501 wrote:yes you are confused, GIMP and blender are very different tools.
Well thanks for pointing things out for me lol.

Blender is Way hard for me cuz all the buttons lol

I use GIMP like Daily all the time I'm not as "confused" with that as Blender.
Image

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:10 am

me1 wrote:Blender is not just a renderer. Blender is a 3D modeling suite (Sweet!) that comes with a modeler, material editor, and renderer, along with the ability to be expanded into external renderer's and modelers and use the many plug-ins, like the auto tree generator, and the BZW Tools.
Lets not forget the rather nice audio and video sequence editors, and the shiny new compositing manager (super impose your render onto an existing {scene,image,video} without outside tools)

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 992
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:32 pm

As a lifelong macintosh user, i find blender's interface extremely frustrating. However, I see blender's power with teppic's plugin, and I'm gonna keep plugging away at it.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:55 pm

As stated, Blender is far more efficient than Wings3D in many ways, but is a lot more technical. There are far more buttons, tools, etc. Wings3D, on the other hand, is very simple, but doesn't do near as much.

As for the whole BZEdit issue, yes, you can not open any blendering, Wings3D thing, or any other 3D program thing you've used in BZEdit (at least to my knowledge). As long as you use teleporters/links, boxes, and pyramids (all standard) you can open it. Anything else goes kaput.

BZEdit is a fabulous modeller to start out with for new BZMappers. After that go to Wings. After that go to Blender. That's the best system for mapmaking, I think.

Personally, I don't do a lot of 3D things at this point. It's never been a strong point in my mapmaking and I'd prefer to stick to older...styles... :D

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by Red Cobra » Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:37 am

Thanks for the help gyes.
the blender plugin is much more full featured then the wings one. The wings one only does meshes. the blender one can do full maps.


What do you meen it can do whole maps? Do you meen it can act like a BZEdit?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:47 am

yes

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by Red Cobra » Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:31 am

Can you import a BZEdit or manually written map into blender?

User avatar
Joop
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:06 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Post by Joop » Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:57 am

blendor is better
COP@:
BOXY
VIPER
HEPCAT

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:07 am

Red Cobra wrote:Can you import a BZEdit or manually written map into blender?
Yes, you can.

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by Red Cobra » Sun Dec 24, 2006 8:10 pm

Thanks Teppic. I have a problem though. :( When I do this: Select Scripts>>Object>>BZWToolkit<ver>. There is no BZWToolkit. :(

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:16 pm

I don't mean to be dismissive, but read the wiki, all of it, follow the 'special instruction' links etc.
All the information you need to get it running first time is there.

Not only will it probably work after that, but if it doesn't you will have a reference point (i.e. when it didn't do what it said it should do) to start diagnosing the problem, and improve the instructions for future users.

Post Reply