Setting Up Admin Permissions With Global Groups

Need help seting up a server, or have a question on how to run one? This is the place.
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Setting Up Admin Permissions With Global Groups

Post by Winny »

This guide has moved to the wiki

http://my.bzflag.org/w/Setting_up_a_group_file
Last edited by Winny on Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:10 pm, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

Do you mind if I make some corrections? ;)

This path in Linux is correct: (the other one was incorrect)

Code: Select all

/home/username/group.txt
Also add a Mac path: (this is if it's on your Desktop)

Code: Select all

/Users/username/Desktop/group.txt
Notice Windows uses backslashes (\) where other OSes use forward slashes (/). On Windows, that is not the default path. Anyways, I think most people would put this on their Desktop. :)

Also, please use correct spelling and grammar for these types of posts. That means using capitals where needed and no "teh" (but I noticed you used the right spelling this time :P ).
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

anyways, im my linux, I made a bzflag folder to put bzflag files in


thanks for the advice
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

Win Xp wrote:anyways, im my linux, I made a bzflag folder to put bzflag files in


thanks for the advice
AFAIK, you don't specify C:\ on Linux.

(unless it's because it's dual-boot? I've never used C:\ or seen C:\ on Linux)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

A Meteorite wrote:
Win Xp wrote:anyways, im my linux, I made a bzflag folder to put bzflag files in


thanks for the advice
AFAIK, you don't specify C:\ on Linux.

(unless it's because it's dual-boot? I've never used C:\ or seen C:\ on Linux)

I have a dual boot, it is a C:\ on my linux, what should it usually be then ?
JPT
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by JPT »

If your bzflag stuff is in your home directory: /home/winxp/bzflag or so.

If you want to acess a Windows Partition, you've to mount it.
Linux can not really access to NTFS File Systems


Here is an introduction for mounting devices with Linux:

The names for devices are containing hd (hard disk) or sd (scsi disk) or fd (Floppy Disk).
Then after this part is a letter: a for the first, b for the second device.
Now, you need the number of your Partition.
For C:\ it's almost 1.

example: /dev/hda1

Mostly, the mountpoint for a device is /mnt/, but on many Distributions is a different system.
Then you've to check, where it is, or you've to mount your partition manually:
Go into the console
(I don't know if you need to be root)

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/hda1
mount /dev/hda /mnt/hda1
On Linux, the first IDE Device is /dev/hda,
If you use it for file acess, it's /mnt/hda.
If you use a Serial Ata or a SCSI device, its /mnt/sda
User avatar
Sir Kay of Camelot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:52 pm
Location: You'll Never Know!
Contact:

...

Post by Sir Kay of Camelot »

Ok first of all I got a GROUPPERMS.txt. I haven't got my groups but I'll skip to the question....
Owner@Cruel's
Admin@(Dvn)'s
Cop@Theme's
Cop@Alex135's
God@-Shadow-'s
Owner@YOUR DEAD's
Owner@Gnurdux's
Maker of Servers
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Re: ...

Post by Winny »

Sir Kay of Camelot wrote:Ok first of all I got a GROUPPERMS.txt. I haven't got my groups but I'll skip to the question....

uhhh. which is........
User avatar
Sir Kay of Camelot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:52 pm
Location: You'll Never Know!
Contact:

...

Post by Sir Kay of Camelot »

HOW DO I APPLY THE GROUPPERMS TO THE GROUPS ONCE THE GROUPS ARE MADE!?!?!? AND HOW DO I GET ANY PEOPLE IN THE GROUPS INTO THOSE GROUPS ON MY SERVER!?!?!? (Like if I made yo admin how did I make it so that your an admin on my server if someone else is hosting....)
I am SOOOO clueless! :?
Owner@Cruel's
Admin@(Dvn)'s
Cop@Theme's
Cop@Alex135's
God@-Shadow-'s
Owner@YOUR DEAD's
Owner@Gnurdux's
Maker of Servers
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Re: ...

Post by Winny »

Sir Kay of Camelot wrote:HOW DO I APPLY THE GROUPPERMS TO THE GROUPS ONCE THE GROUPS ARE MADE!?!?!? AND HOW DO I GET ANY PEOPLE IN THE GROUPS INTO THOSE GROUPS ON MY SERVER!?!?!? (Like if I made yo admin how did I make it so that your an admin on my server if someone else is hosting....)
I am SOOOO clueless! :?


read the tutorial I made overhead.........


he is still using a conf...just add the path to the group file in that conf......
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

I think he does not understand the meaning of global groups...

Any server can use any global group, only the owner of those groups can add or remove people. Just tell the person that is hosting the server for you to add your group names into the -groupdb. He will know what to do. ;)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
OO7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: <classified>
Contact:

Post by OO7 »

im confused...how do u edit a group if there isnt one created?
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

OO7 wrote:im confused...how do u edit a group if there isnt one created?
Make a post here requesting them and their names: http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=2660
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

OO7 wrote:im confused...how do u edit a group if there isnt one created?

go where met said, if you would have read that whole post you would have known where to go.
Legolas_
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:24 pm

Post by Legolas_ »

Is there a way to do this:


When you are on a server and someone is using vulgar language, can you put him into a group where they cannot spawn or talk?

I have seen this with non-member things on the gu league but i dont know how to do it.
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Sounds like a great idea; punish people by putting them in a group that they can leave at any time.
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

CannonBallGuy Most people who are banned/muted or put in one of those groups doesn't even know/remember what BZBB is...let alone that you can quit a mute group.
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

They will receive an email saying "You have been added to the "SERVER.MUTE" group" and they may just click the link provided to see what it's all about.
If they do, they'll surely see the "Leave this group" link, don't you think?
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

I found a thread last night that showed me all the possible permissions, so I set them up for my cop & administrator groups, and then I tried adding "EVERYONE" and "VERIFIED" to the group file, hoping I could make it to where I could set it so that they couldn't vote for the "set" command. However, they were able to still do it (I asked someone to test it for me).

The reason I ask for this is because there are some people who have been really annoying with "set" polls, trying to set the sky as red, the raintype as frogs, and all that.

How can I get the verified people to only be able to vote for certain things?
Image
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2033
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme »

Ck_asdf wrote:How can I get the verified people to only be able to vote for certain things?
Gnurdux has a plugin that will only allow /set for certain variables. I'll try to find it sometime tonight, and let you know where it is.
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

so you know, I'm going to want to run this in linux... :) and the reason I mention that is I know it makes a difference in how the plugins are used, and the file extensions, and all that jazz. I just don't know anything past that basic knowledge...
thanks!
Image
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2033
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme »

Constitution wrote:
Ck_asdf wrote:How can I get the verified people to only be able to vote for certain things?
Gnurdux has a plugin that will only allow /set for certain variables. I'll try to find it sometime tonight, and let you know where it is.
Well, I wasn't able to find it. I don't know if it was ever publically released. Anyway, I'm not sure that it even governed /poll sets (although it did work for /set). If you're interested, I might do a little more searching around (or just get in contact with Gnurdux and ask him for it).

EDIT: Oops, I spoke to soon. Just found the plugin. The attached .zip file has the source file, a linux .so build, and the configuration file. Just list the variables that you don't want to ever be modified in the config file, and load the plugin with /loadplugin (or -loadplugin) /path/to/protectVars.so,/path/to/protect.conf (where the path after the comma is the path to the configuration file).

Hope this works for you.
Attachments
protectVars.zip
(8.86 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

I'm not sure what Louman has in place, but in his room, Louman's Bridges, I believe he has it set up to allow for voting of certain things like flagreset, kill/kick, and a couple of other things, but he has set turned off.


What is the syntax of how I use the plugin you just gave me?
Image
User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2033
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme »

It is possible to grant people the POLLKICK, POLLBAN, and POLLFLAGRESET permissions without granting them the POLLSET perm (which allows the setting of variables). Is this what's going on?

I described the loading syntax in my earlier post:

Code: Select all

Just list the variables that you don't want to ever be modified in the config file, and load the plugin with /loadplugin (or -loadplugin) /path/to/protectVars.so,/path/to/protect.conf (where the path after the comma is the path to the configuration file).
In other words, if the plugin and the config file (protect.conf) are located in your /bzflag directory, use:

Code: Select all

/loadplugin /bzflag/protectVars.so,/bzflag/protect.conf
The stuff after the comma is the argument to the plugin; namely, the location of the configuration file.
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

sorry, I guess what I meant about the syntax is how to select the various settings. But I guess to de-select some of them, I can take them out/add a comment symbol (#).

To answer your question, yes; here's what it says in the server when I type "/poll"

Usage: /poll vote yes|no
or /poll ban playername
or /poll flagreset

I successfully did a flagreset poll, and when I tried a poll to set gravity, it said "Ck_asdf, you may not /poll set on this server"

So yes, I only want certain poll options, but I don't want the "set" option to be available. Not any of the set options. :D

thanks for your help so far!
Image
Post Reply