The Disarming BZFS

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

The Disarming BZFS

Post by Scorch » Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:00 pm

I do not require UDP on my server (when i requre udp did it kicked me when i shot my first bullet and said i didn't use UDP,how do i get UDP on?) and sometimes you can shoot yourself but other clients litterally do not see feel or smell your bullets. help please!

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:54 pm

Are you using a router? If so, what model? I had to do some port forwarding tricks to allow UDP through mine.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:52 am

internal mac firewall and a NETGEAR WGR614 v4 router which i have access to through routerlogin.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:48 pm

bump.

Hello? I still need help with this. Anyone have any idea? (or willing to host server for free with a decent connection :wink: )

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:47 am

Scorch wrote:bump.

Hello? I still need help with this. Anyone have any idea? (or willing to host server for free with a decent connection :wink: )
I can do the hosting part. Shoot me a PM.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:25 am

really? cool, ill shoot u l8r. :wink: So do you think your serving will fix these probs?

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:41 am

what you need to do is ask your ip service
how to do port forwarding i think...when you
get to whatever screen to use for this there
will probably be a UDP button or check box
click that...along with whatever port forwarding
you have to do...
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:49 am

you mean like dyndns?

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:36 pm

Scorch wrote:you mean like dyndns?
no....thats a service that does DNS forwarding i think yes?

port forwarding is handled by the place you buy
your internet service from...like AOL...JUNO...VERIZON
COMCAST....etc...etc..thru your computer at home
which will be your router(black box?)...it also
might have to do with your firewall or a combination
of the 2...

generally there is a webpage or something where
you can go to for your service and input stuff like....

thesoftware.exe 192.X.X.X port# TCP/UDP turn it on...
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:29 pm

using:
mac
comcast
internal mac firewall udp and tcp forwarding
routerlogin.com for my router forwarding (doesnt have for udp/tcp opts)
motorola modem box (i think this forwards all?)

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:33 pm

comcast should have a http://192.X.X.X page you can goto
that does what i show...they should have given you
a username and password for it...

on main page goto gateway then network then port config...
fill in the blanks....the ip will be your local 192.X.X.X number
whatever that is....

if you call comcast support they can quickly get you there...
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:03 am

do you mean my LAN ip? that gives me my computers home page. which because of my website is set to be the bzrox website, i can go to routerlogin.com which gives me the NETGEAR routers forwarding options.

You want me to go to comcast.com or the cable boxes page (don't know what that is.) or what?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests