BZFlag on an Intel Macintosh

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

BZFlag on an Intel Macintosh

Post by optic delusion » Mon May 15, 2006 4:04 pm

If you have one of those shiny new Intel Macintoshes, and want to play BZFlag. Here is the link you need.

Old link removed. was version 2.0.4.
Last edited by optic delusion on Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

BZFlag 2.0.8 for Intel Mac

Post by optic delusion » Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:37 pm

It appears we now have a 2.0.8 binary that works quite well.
http://eidotter.de/~alexx/bzflag/

Note this is an Intel-only build. It is not universal and will not work on a PPC machine.

Some players have reported a bug "shots not showing up on radar"
Just turn smoothing off in your GUI settings.
Last edited by optic delusion on Wed May 30, 2007 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

Legolas_
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:24 pm

Post by Legolas_ » Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:59 pm

Ok. Just tried it on my brand new spankin macbook. It works great until someone starts a countdown. Then the thing starts to crash (this only happens about 40% of the time)

10%
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:32 am

Post by 10% » Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:55 pm

Just attempted to run it on my brand spanking macbook....

It just won't load....

<suspects permissions issue>

-Rob

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

MacBook Pro No-Go.

Post by optic delusion » Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:21 am

It appears that this version is working well on Intel Mac desktop machines, but is having some problems on the macbook pro.
I'd be happy to work with someone to compile 2.0.8 on a macbook pro, if you have one, please contact me via PM.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

10%
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:32 am

Post by 10% » Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:48 am

After further analysis.... It appears that the 2.0.8 build above requires X11 and the X11SDK installed for essential libs - The MacBook's default install doesn't include dev tools or X11 - I installed them and now the build runs fine.

One *little* problem at the moment..... Shots don't show up on radar(!) The color 'trails' do, but the shot itself doesn't.

-Rob

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:40 pm

Well, there ya go. The answer.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 990
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Now NOT dependent on X-11

Post by optic delusion » Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:00 pm

Alright, the build in the original link has been changed. The link will now produce an application that is NOT dependent on X-11. This means you do NOT have to install devtools, X-11, or SDL.

Keep posting bugs, if you notice any.
I'm pretty sure "shots not showing on radar" was just his particular settings, and it can be fixed with a change in GUI options.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

Daemon
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:37 pm

Post by Daemon » Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:30 pm

I have just compiled BZFlag 2.0.8 for Intel Macs. It seems to run just fine. Download from:

http://homepage.mac.com/jmalcaide/.Publ ... sx-x86.zip

Enjoy!

User avatar
sherman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:22 pm
Contact:

Post by sherman » Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:06 am

I've gone through all the settings, and shots still aren't showing up on the radar. Any chance this will be fixed with a future release?
nobody

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:49 am

I am on a MacBook Pro with that eidotter-build and it works perfectly fine. Try increasing the Shot-Size in your GUI-options.

temporal distraction
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:12 pm

Post by temporal distraction » Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:28 pm

I have the same issue, see the screenshot. Changing the shot size option in GUI settings has no effect. I can mitigate the issue by making the trails longer (and leading, so I can see where they are going).

I think I recall others having this issue with 2.0.0, I cannot find the solution though.

Any other ideas?

Edit: I can adjust the shotsize on a PPC G5 mac - so it really seems to be the IntelMac build.

Further Edit: Turning off "Smoothing" at the Options->Display Settings makes the shots appear - yippee!
Attachments
works-fine-on-PPC.jpg
Same shot, but on a PowerPC G5
(286.73 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
shot-size-not-working.jpg
(249.8 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
Last edited by temporal distraction on Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:43 pm

I got myself a macbook.

It runs great, but I do have the problem with the shots.

temporal distraction
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:12 pm

Post by temporal distraction » Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:24 pm

I've tried clearing out the client config file, and even rebuilding from scratch using A-Delusion's instructions, but the shots still appear as a single pixel in radar.

Ah well, there's always something...

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:38 pm

I've had that problem on Linux before...

User avatar
G5 Serenity 2011
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:45 am

Found a couple more bugs, I think, to Mac Intel version.

Post by G5 Serenity 2011 » Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:12 am

GRrrrr. New iMac running 10.4.7 and the other build of 2.0.8 for Intel Macs which I found on this forum. The official version will quit on my iMac everytime, no exceptions. The game starts on any server, and between 3-10 seconds later, quits. The "a" key for changing the speed at which your tank moves does not work. Same speed, which appears a little slow, on Bable anyway. Plus (and this is my biggest gripe), since installing this build, all the background scenery, mountains and meadows, anything beyond the border of the map, is extremely dark. I've checked and changed all the settings, monitor is set to brightest and best resolution, but nothing helps. It's definitely playable, but sure ain't pretty!

G5

User avatar
Saturos
Art Master General
Art Master General
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 2:48 pm
Location: Berlin/Germany
Contact:

Post by Saturos » Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:42 pm

Might be OT, but... HEY G5 SERENITY! Remeber the good old GU-times? We played a lot... :o

Beth
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:23 am

Post by Beth » Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:06 am

Wow -- thanx ya'll for posting a link to the intel version. My new macbook thanks you too. Yay!

Beth

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:24 pm

Hmm, I had to reinstall BZFlag, but the eidotter link isn't working, and the other build freezes my macbook for some reason...

Anyone have a copy of the eidotter.de build around?

DohWhiteSoxRule
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:45 am

y'all rock...

Post by DohWhiteSoxRule » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:56 pm

Thanks, I new there was a solution. You all rock! Thanks...

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2024
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme » Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:43 am

I just got a new MacBook, and have confirmed that the shots don't show up on radar. I've also encountered this problem in Linux, using Ubuntu Edgy Eft on a 3GHz Sony Vaio (the shots, however, showed up fine under the Windows OS on the same machine). I'm going to try to diagnose and fix the problem, but I'm not really an expert, so I could use all the help that's available. There are several ways that people can help.

First of all, if you know the solution, post it. :-P If someone has Windows XP or Linux on one of these MacBooks or MacBook Pros, try BZFlag out under that and let me know how it works. This might help us figure out what's going on. One significant thing is that the configure scripts for PPC and Intel macs output exactly the same thing, with the exception of the machine type (obviously). That gives us a somewhat of an assurance that it isn't a library problem.

I'll let you know when/if I get it figured out.

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2024
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme » Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:38 am

Okay I figured it out, courtesy of Grover. Just turn the "Smoothing" setting in your display settings to off. Shots should then appear as normal. Not sure what actually causes the problem, but this should fix it for you.

horizonstar
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:36 am

Can't connect to servers on Intel Mac

Post by horizonstar » Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:52 am

I got my MacBook Pro last year in February and have since been trying to play BZFlag (not very hard, I guess) for about a year. I've downloaded all the latest binaries as they've appeared on these forums, and they run fine, but I can't connect to any servers. No matter what server I select, I get "Server not found" when I try to connect.

I never had this problem on my PowerBook G4, and I was using the same NAT settings on my router with it. I assumed it was a problem with the new binary, but now I see all the discussion about people getting it to run just fine.

Any help would be very much appreciated so I can get back into my old (3-year) BZFlag habit!

-H

User avatar
Red Cobra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by Red Cobra » Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:49 pm

Hey Win XP. The reason why it might not be working is because your callsiign is win xp and you are a microsoft kind of gye. Now using a mac? :D
Cop@R3lax
Trusted@Viper

zetan
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:00 am

sound on OSX/Intel

Post by zetan » Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:47 pm

bzflag 2.0.8 works great on my MacMini Intel.

How do I setup the sound driver in bzflag for OSX sound devices?
What do I enter for Driver and Device in the Audio menu?

Tanks,
-Z

Post Reply